Kris Farris - UCLA

Farris Wins Outland Trophy

College Football Daily Report / UCLA
Friday, December 11, 1998

Farris wins the Outland TrophyUCLA tackle Kris Farris, an integral part of what may be the best offense in the country, Thursday was awarded the Outland Trophy as college football's top interior lineman.

The presentation came during a show in Lake Buena Vista, Fla., that also included Texas running back Ricky Williams beating out Bruin quarterback Cade McNown and Kansas State quarterback Michael Bishop for the Maxwell Award as the best all-around player. In Houston, Kansas State's Bill Snyder won the Bear Bryant Award as the top coach over a field of finalists that included UCLA's Bob Toledo.

Farris, a junior, has not allowed a sack this season.

The other results Thursday included Williams for the Doak Walker Award as outstanding running back; Texas A&M lineman Dat Nguyen for the Chuck Bednarik Trophy as defensive player of the year; Florida State's Sebastian Janikowski for the Groza Award as top kicker; Tennessee's Phillip Fulmer for the Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year; Louisiana Tech's Troy Edwards for the Biletnikoff Award as outstanding receiver; Northwestern's Matt Hartl for Sports Spirit Award; Georgia's Matt Stinchcomb, Princeton's Alex Sierk, Mesa State's Josh Penry and Western Maryland's Tom Lapato for scholar-athletes of the year.